TOYM awardee for broadcast journalism

MANILA — Two Metro Manila mayors lead seven distinguished young Filipinos who made it to the final cut of this year’s JCI Philippines’ search for The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM).

Mayors Joseph Victor Ejercito of San Juan City and Navotas Mayor Tobias Reynald Tiangco are the awardees in the government/public service and community service categories, respectively.

The other awardees announced by the Jaycees at a press conference in Quezon City Friday afternoon are Kara Patria David for broadcast journalism; Philippine Air Force Captain Giemel Espino for military service; Chikka Asia Inc. founder and chief executive officer Dennis Mendiola for business leadership; National Disaster Coordinating Council deputy administrator Anthony Rolando Golez Jr. for disaster management; and Mary Mother of Poor founder Fr. Fernando Suarez for religious service.

The formal awards ceremony will be held at Malacañang Palace on December 10, with President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo as guest of honor.

The TOYM award is recognized as one of the country’s most prestigious recognition for young men and women whose selfless dedication to their field resulted in significant contributions to the country and the Filipinos.

Chief Justice Reynato Puno is this year’s chair of the board of judges.


congratulations Ms. kara David..



Palace honors 7 outstanding young men of RP

Malacanang honored last night seven young Filipinos who distinguished themselves this year for their exemplary contribution to the advancement of the global community through their leadership skills, social and fellowship for positive development.

The awarding ceremonies of the 48th edition of the annual search for The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) of the country was held at the Rizal Hall of Malacanang, with Executive Secretary Eduardo Ermita handing out the trophies to the awardees.

Ermita subbed for President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo who arrived early this morning from an unscheduled one-day trip to Kuwait following her seven-day official trip to Europe.

The President visited Kuwait to appeal personally to the Emir of Kuwait to spare the life of Marilou Ranario who was sentenced to death by hanging for the killing of her female employee.

Assisting Ermita in the awards ceremonies were Gerry Roxas Foundation chairperson Judy Araneta-Roxas, TOYM Foundation president Menardo Jimenez, and Glenn Santos, national president of the Junior Chamber International Philippines (Philippine Jaycees, Inc.), sponsors of the annual search since 1959.

This year’s awardees are Kara Patria David for broadcast journalism; San Juan City Mayor Joseph Victor Ejercito, government/public service; Capt. Giemel Espino, military service; National Disaster Coordinating Council (NDCC) Deputy Administrator Dr. Anthony Rolando Golez Jr., disaster management; Dennis Mendiola, business leadership; Navotas City Mayor Tobias Reynald Tiangco, community service; and Rev. Fr. Fernando Suarez, for religious service.

David, co-host of the award-winning GMA-7 television program “I-Witness,” was chosen for hosting, writing, and producing award-winning documentary programs.

Under Mayor Ejercito’s leadership, San Juan City registered the lowest poverty incidence and became the best financially managed municipality achieving a 200 percent increase in its revenues in just four years.

Espino is the only Philippine Air Force (PAF) pilot with dual qualifications to conduct risky rain-making and cloud-seeding missions that greatly helped farmers during dry spells.

Aside from being designated as government spokesperson on disaster information and management, Golez spearheaded a number of development and informative government programs. He is also a recipient of the PAGASA’s Wind Vane Award for helping the country’s weather bureau in its advocacy and preparedness campaigns during calamities.

Mendiola is the founder of Chikka Asia, Inc. the creator of the popular Chikka Text Messenger service which became one of the leading providers of enhanced mobile messaging service. Apart from its $50 million yearly net income, his company also undertakes civic and relief work and helped public school students through the “Text2Teach” program.

Under Mayor Tiangco’s term, Navotas won the distinction as the greenest municipality in Metro Manila in 2001, 2003 and 2004. Tiangco also conceptualized and established the Boambastik Pumping Station which radically reduced flooding in Navotas City from 44 percent to 2.7 percent in one year.

Famous for his healing ministry, Fr. Suarez founded the Mary Mother of Poor (MMP), a charitable organization which is currently feeding 2,000 students daily, and sponsoring close to 140 poor families, 25 senior citizens, 50 scholars, and six seminarians in the poor areas of the country.

The TOYM Awards was initiated by the Manila Jaycees on April 6, 1959. Since then, the TOYM Awards has become an institution with a reputation for selectiveness in its choosing the outstanding young men and women for the award.

The TOYM seeks to give national recognition to young Filipino men and women between the ages of 18 and 40 whose “selfless dedication to their profession or vocation has resulted in significant contributions to the welfare of their countrymen as well as to the advancement of their fields of endeavor.”

released 12/11/2007


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: